X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Batteries

Hello, Just trying to get a better handle on batteries. What I'm a bit dim on is the difference in the numbers and what sizes I can go to. For instance, I'm looking to buy a battery or two for my Flyzone Calypso.
    Flyzone Calypso uses a Tigre connector so I was looking at the adapter. The Calypso comes with a 1330 mAH 15c 11.1v. I'm studying up on the Lipo batteries and trying to figure what changes I can make with batteries, difference in discharge rates , capacity etc. Can anyone suggest a battery from the Motion RC selection that they had success with?
    Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Re: Batteries

Welcome to the MotionRC Forum, FlightChief!

Enter the SKU "EPR13003" in the Store's search field to take you to our 11.1v 3s 1300mah 25c lipo. It is perfect for that airplane of yours and will give you a bit more "punch" without unnecessary added weight or cost.

Your larger question cannot be answered comprehensively without a long explanation, but I'll try to generalize:

Battery capacity and discharge ratings are part of your power system (motor/esc/battery/prop) that benefit from optimizing the balance between several factors. Be mindful that the point in all these separate systems is that they operate in a RELATIONSHIP. So understanding each aspect is important, but ultimately it is understanding their intertwined relationship that will really unlock the details of power system optimization. By that I mean giving the most power, for the longest time, for the lightest weight, flying the intended performance envelope, for the lower cost and the longest life cycle. These considerations vary whether you're flying a foamy glider, or a warbird, or a hotliner, or a turbine jet.

So, to your question about battery's capacity and discharge rating.