X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Receivers

What's the recommended radio, receiver,batteries and charger for the B-24 Liberator? I'm new to this and need help getting started. My father worked with the B-24 "Never Mrs" 453rd bomb group and I'm making a replica of it. Sent pics to Callie and she's setting me up.

6 channel "full range" radio.

More channels can be used but you'd need to bypass parts of the board in the plane used to connect multiple servos/ESCs to some channels. (not hard, just use servo extensions)

You want to be able to separate the antenna a few inches either by Spektrum's satellite RX system or having "whisker antennae" that are more than 2 inches on the RX for 2.4 ghz systems. (72 mhz still works just fine)

Pretty much any 6+channel RX (appropriate for your transmitter) that is not labeled for "park flyer" or micro model use will work

Charger... pretty much any modern LiPo charger rated 50 watts or more would be adequate.

https://www.motionrc.com/collections...-ac-dc-charger
    Would do pretty well allowing charging at home and at the field. (caution not to over-discharge your car's battery if using it to power the charger at the field)

You may need to get or make an adapter to go between charger and the battery. I am not sure which connectors come with the current chargers. (My chargers are all several years old)

Just get the recommended pack at MotionRC for the airplane.

I would NOT recommend this as a first RC airplane. You should be familiar with flying something else first.
    It may take some people 3 or more other aircraft to build appropriate flying skills to be able to handle this model if something goes wrong such as one of the props coming off in flight and causing the aircraft to not respond normally.
    FF gliders and rubber power since 1966, CL 1970-1990, RC since 1975.

current planes from 1/2 oz to 22 lbs

Comment

Hello Peteremus...........Welcome to the Squawk