X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some input.........

Hey guys. Need your thoughts on this. I recently purchased the FW 70mm Hawk. However, I am not comfortable trying it yet due to the following reasons:

I have been building & flying fuel prop jobs off and on for 25+ years. The last 2 planes I actively flew were the Midwest AT-6 Texan and the Sig King Kobra (Rossi .61 w/ tuned pipe, 100mph+). Due to life, divorce, jobs, moving and so on, I have been away from flying completely since 2010. I have however remained a builder and kept my hands in R/C hobby but now I'm looking to start back flying again.

Before I try the Hawk, I'm thinking about getting a 64mm edf to knock the rust off with. I know most of the 64's are not that great, but can you guys tell me which one would be good to start with? From the reviews there doesn't seem to be a really "good one". I have been looking at the F-22 & the F-18, they seem to have decent reviews.

Ideas? Thoughts? Suggestions?

https://www.motionrc.com/collections...ts_only%3D64mm

https://www.motionrc.com/collections...ts_only%3D64mm
    www.23T.weebly.com

I know of several guys that have purchased the Freewing Rebel as their first EDF.
    Seems to be a decent trainer/sport jet, especially for the price!

I never flew one myself, but the couple I have seen remind my of my (deceased & now discontinued) Habu 2, which was a fun & forgiving EDF, especially for its size.

Also, since you've been away from the sticks for awhile, any of the currently available RC simulators would be a great way to shake off the rust!!
    I was in a similar situation a few years ago, and my Real Flight sim definitely help kick-start the muscle memory back to life

Comment

Originally posted by Chief58D View Post
      I know of several guys that have purchased the Freewing Rebel as their first EDF. Seems to be a decent trainer/sport jet, especially for the price!