Collapse
First Prev Next Last
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just Want to Say "Hello" - And some questions

Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to the RC community, I did build and flew the line-controlled planes back in the mid 70s - that tells you my age bracket. Anyway, I received a Champ last Christmas from a friend, fun but not on windy days. For Father's Day & Birthday present, my wife both me the Flyzone Mini Switch RTF - a fun plane! But, in my humble opinion, the High Wing configuration is not for beginners and, more of a field flyer than a park flyer.

Besides the Champ, my only experience in RC flying is with the RealFlight G4.5, which a friend let me use. I was in the process of buying the G6 version, but looking at the price package I decided, with the wife's wisdom, to get the Phoenix V4 with the DX6i and the Tactic AnyLink, since the Mini Switch receiver is a Tactic TR624. Both the Realflight and Phoenix V4 really saved me money and heartaches, I have not crashed my planes....yet...lol! Have broken the motor shaft during landing when the wind shifted - it is fixed and have been flying the Mini Switch when the wind is steady.

My FMS 800mm P-47 V2 will be delivered in a couple of days. I was able to download FMS ESC information. The P-47 is equipped with the 20A ESC, with a Burst current of 30A. According to FMS specs, it can use 2S-4S LiPo. The only data I have about the brushless motor in it's a kv1700.

So my question(s) is/are:
    1. Would a 3S 11.1v 15C 1300mAh would be too much for the motor? I'm not concerned with the ESC since LiPo is within the specs.
    2. If I do use the 3S LiPo, what do I need to watch out for or consider?

Lastly, I have seen and read of planes manufactured by FMS/Airfield or Airfield/FMS. FMS site exist, but can't find Airfield site. But Airfield have planes similar to FMS, but I don't think they are the same. Can someone clear that for me?

Thank you all.

Re: Just Want to Say "Hello" - And some questions