Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EDF Trainer advice

Hello guys

After many years of experience with electric and glow props, I decided to move my first steps into the ducted fan world.
    A bunch of years ago I used to have a small Alfamodel F86, but I was a beginner and the experience was not so good.

So I'm looking for an affordable PNP trainer jet, with which I can learn the basics in order to move to a bigger fighter in the future.

At the moment my interests fell on the FW Rebel V2, the FW Yak 130 or the FMS (QT-Models) T45.

What do you think? Which one of these is the most recommended to learn in terms of forgiveness/performance ratio?
    Or maybe another model?

I would like to stick on a 70mm size fan because of the budget

steps90 Welcome to Hobby Squawk! We hope you find a home here among like-minded RC crazies.

Of your three choices, based on your budget-friendly preference, the Rebel V2 is the most affordable to own and operate. Importantly, it lands just as nicely without flaps as it does with. This is key, because you'll want to familiarize yourself with landing approaches in both conditions. Retracts are simple but effective, the 4s battery is cheap, a wide wing area provides excellent wing loading, and suffice to say the Rebel has almost more years on the market than both of the other birds on your list, combined.

The FMS T-45 looks great but I've only flown it a handful of times, which is not enough for me to be able to recommend for or against it. I'm sure others will chime in with their personal experience on this bird.