Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FMS 800mm Skyraider

Hello,

I just tried to maiden my FMS Skyraider this morning and was not very successful. The plane took off of the grass OK, but was pretty much uncontrollable in the air. I checked the CG at 65mm as the manual states, and it was a little nose heavy even after adding 0.25oz weight in the tail. I didn't expect the plane to react as it did though. Basically, I tried to get altitude to try trimming it out, but could never get it to fly level, and finally it just spun into the ground. I have repaired the damage, added another 0.25oz lead weight to the tail and the CG is right on now, also moved the linkages to the outermost (least responsive) holes on the ailerons and elevators. I had initially put them in the middle holes for better response, but maybe it was too much. I am not a beginner, I also flew my Dynam 900mm Spitfire today, my Parkzone Stinson Reliant, and the Parkzone Archer, all without any issues, and all were on my Spektrum DX8. I had the Skyraider set at 30% expo on all the throws, and 85% on the dual rate low range which is where I was flying it.

Has anyone else had experience with this plane? Is the CG correct as shown at 65mm from the leading edge? I love the looks of this plane, but so far it is best as a display plane. Any suggestions are welcomed!

Loneflier

Re: FMS 800mm Skyraider-Take 2 Still won't fly!