X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electric Motor compatible chart

Hello everyone I am trying to find a chart or specs comparing MotionRC Electric Motors to Eflight and rim fires I have not been able to find enough information so I can make a decision on which one to pick. Is the Admiral G5 close to rim fires .55. I am new to rc planes and the KV rating is a little confusing. Ok here is my problem I have the nexa tiger moth and 72 inch Lysander. Is the G5 that is suggested for the tiger moth be enough for the Lysander. Thanks for any help.

Hello I_Tank
    There is unfortunately no electric motor comparison charts of the various manufactures. This is because like minded electrical tech geeks as myself and others have been unable to put any reliable charts together primarily because the manufactures for the most part tend to keep their specs rather close to the vest.
    Motion does publish the mech & elec specs for the Admiral GP5 (as well as for the Freewing and Scorpion brands) whereas the only thing you can glean from the Horizon/Tower site on the Rimfire55 is the can sizing of 4260 and the kV of 480.

The first problem with comparing these two motors is the extreme disparencies with the kV ratings with the GP5 being 290kV higher at 770kV than the above stated 480kV for the Rimfire.
    The motors kV is one the 3 primary factors for determining power requirements for an aircraft. The other two are Voltage and Prop(dia/pitch/blades) .
    The 770kV range is usually representative of a motor using a prop dia of 11-14 inches on a 4S voltage whereas the 480Kv range of motors represents a 6S power spinning 14-16 diameter prop.
    The bottom line to kV ratings gives you an unloaded RPM...……….. ie > the 770kV x 14.8Vdc(4S nominal) = 11,396rpm
    The recommended motor for the Nexa Tigermoth is way underpowered for the Blackhorse Lysander. The Blackhorse is in another class regarding weight and wing area.