You must Sign-in or Register to post messages in the Hobby Squawk community
Registration is FREE and only takes a few moments

Register now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bec inside ESC and BEC integrated flight controller compatibility…

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bec inside ESC and BEC integrated flight controller compatibility…

Hey, I’m new to the rc world. I’m attempting to build a twin 70mm EDF jet for FPV. I plan on using the R9|RXSR Pilot flight controller from FrSky. From what I’ve learned, the FC has an internal integrated BEC. Now knowing this, does that mean I need to get 2 ESC’s without a BEC? Instead of my original plan of getting one ESC with and one ESC w/o internal BEC? (I plan on ordering some custom MGM TMM ESC’s)

In simple terms, does the BEC in the flight controller “replace” the BEC in my ESC? From what I’ve heard, I don’t want two BEC’s, so I’m making sure my FC and ESC don’t “fight”.

please keep in mind that I may be completely missing the concept, so if my question doesn’t make sense my bad lol

pls help :)
    Last edited by KreachurR; Jul 23, 2022, 09:40 AM. Reason: Typo in title

If you need links to the components or more detail just lmk.

thanks in advance

Comment

I'm not familiar with that FC but if it does have its own power circuit and it seems you plug your flight battery and ESC into the FC, then you can put any kind of ESC to it. If the ESC you choose has an internal BEC, it's a simple matter of disconnecting the middle red wire from the throttle lead. It's easy enough to try. Remove the red wire from your ESCs that have an internal BEC and if it all works, done. If the FC doesn't power up, then put the red wire back on one of the ESCs. The only point of confusion for me with that FC, is that I don't understand how the throttle leads are hooked up.

Comment