X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which one would be best for beginner.

E-flite Apprentice S 15e with SAFE 1500mm (59") Wingspan or HobbyZone Carbon Cub S+ with SAFE

Trying to decide which i should get. Which one i decide to buy I eventually would like to add flaps . What do you veterans suggest. Thanks

Apprentice is the way to go.

Comment

Having "been there" as a beginner, I found it much easier to start off with a EP glider. BNF with SAFE or install a receiver with a SAFE like feature. No need to fly from a "club field". Hand launch in SAFE mode. Climb to height. Switch off the SAFE mode. Play arround at height. Switch back to SAFE mode to recover from potenial desaster. Use SAFE mode to glide in for a soft belly landing. Gliders are majesttic and more predictable. Start with at least a 1.5m wingspan. Maybe all that is needed is three channel and a large dihedral wing.

Comment

Yeah, I started with a Radian sailplane myself, no SAFE. Having no wheels, landing was easier to master. You just have to NOT fly it like a normal plane (ie, under power all the time).
        But given the choices, it's boils down to a matter of which one is easiest to deal with - tricycle gear or tail dragger. IMO, a trike would make for less prop damage due to nose over, however, there is still the chance of front quarter tip over (this causes less damage but can get frustrating). A tail dragger can be tricky to keep straight on the ground while taking off and there is more likelihood of nose over and subsequent prop, motor and motor mount damage - as a beginner, we've all been too slow to shut the motor off when we see it going over.
        Once flying, both those choices should be fairly equal in terms of beginner learning. (Go for the Apprentice.)

Comment