X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3s or 4s?

hey guys I’m pretty new to the rc game. I totaled my Dynam T-6 yesterday. It wasn’t bad flying, it was bad depth perception haha. Anyways I want to buy the Dynam hawker but it says it recommends a 4s. Can I use a 3 with the current esc? Thanks everyone

Originally posted by matthewmillerkauai View Post
    hey guys I’m pretty new to the rc game. I totaled my Dynam T-6 yesterday. It wasn’t bad flying, it was bad depth perception haha. Anyways I want to buy the Dynam hawker but it says it recommends a 4s. Can I use a 3 with the current esc? Thanks everyone
    MMKauai, Welcome to Hobby Squawk! If you use 3S, i.e., 3 cells in series instead of 4S, obviously, the biggest difference is the voltage delivered to the motors. A 3S Lipo has a nominal voltage of 11.1V or 12.6V when fully charged, while a 4S Lipo has a nominal voltage of 14.8V and 16.8V at full charge. Voltage is RPM in this example and the Low Voltage Circuit in the current ESC might not allow the lower voltages of a 3S. I hope this has helped, but I am sure you'll receive better advice here at the "Squawk" as there are many who have vast knowledge and experience with this topic. Additionally, there are many Youtube vids on Lipo's that I have found informative. Best, Elbee
    I solemnly swear to "over-celebrate" the smallest of victories.
    ~Lucky B*st*rd~

You'll never be good at something unless you're willing to suck at it first.
    ~Anonymous~

AMA#116446

Comment

Thank you for the quick response. I’m pretty sure I’ll just go with the spitfire then. It’s 3s, and I have a bunch of 3s stuff. I’m just curious if I can make the 3s work with the same hookup. Can’t wait to get back flying!

Comment

Well I don’t have vast knowledge or experience but I can see that the ESC is rated for 2S to 4S, so it would operate. It may also fly on 3S, it just wont fly as fast!

Comment