X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scale Plans Reccomendations

Hello, I am fairly new to the RC world, but I have been flying RTF planes for about a year now. A friend of mine and I built our first RC plane from scratch, but it sadly did not perform too well. I was hoping to get some recommendations from some of the veterans in the hobby for some plans that would be good to follow. I have a couple objectives for a plane I would like to meet:

1) Fully Scalable. The initial motivation for wanting to get into RC flying is due to my passion for flight. I am currently working towards my private pilot's license, and was hoping to make my own FAR Part 103 ultralight from the ground up. I wanted to grow some building skills before setting out to such a large feat, so I decided that RC versions of my future ultralight would be a safe way to go. That being the case, I would essentially want my RC to just be a smaller version of the future plane, using the same building materials and techniques.

2) Electric. I definitely believe the future of aviation will be in electric motors, with how much denser battery capacity has become. I have seen an electric ultralight done before, so I would like to continue on that path. I do have a decent amount of practice and experience with all of the electronics involved in RC planes, so this part should be fairly easy for me.

3) Light. For those not familiar with FAA Part 103, the empty weight of the plane must be less than 254 pounds. so if I made a 1/5th scale RC, we would be looking at 25 pounds or less. I want to play it safe regulation wise as well, so I will say that this should include the weight of the battery.

4) Power. The full scale version will need to hold not only the weight of the batteries, but also my own weight(about 120 pounds). I want to make sure the smaller scale will handle a scaled version of this weight as well.