X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Real old pilot new R/C pilot

been lurking here for a few months now &finally joined.my real flying days are over now at 78 as i lost my medical.but having been around airplanes &the industry most of my life and my passion for flight ,i bought Realflight8 and have been flying it on average about 2 hrs a day.
    i am quite comfortable with it and would now like to purchase an Eflite maule7 or a Flyzone beaver.i live in a rural area with access to small ponds &that is why ii am considering both airplanes as they come with floats.i have read various reviews and the opinion i have is the maule is as good or better than the timber.perhaps i am wrong ,and i know their is a wealth of advice and knowledge on this forum,and the fact folks are willing to help those in need..i plan on being self taught.your thoughts and opinions will be well received regards&later Silver dart

SD, Self-taught is doable, though probably expensive. Like many, I tried the "okay let's go" version of the first check flight and lost. Damage was heartbreaking, but the lesson was clear. There are R/C Flying Simulator Programs available and a forum on this website. I'd check that out for certain. Just like 1:1 best to start high-wing, though I am not familiar with the eflite, the Beaver seems like a good choice. Tricycle gear is better, but with your 1:1 savvy, you'll be good, I think. Hobby Squawk has many who fly or have flown 1:1 and R/C, a natural mix. Welcome, and enjoy your new forms of flying. Best, LB :Cool:
    I solemnly swear to "over-celebrate" the smallest of victories.
    ~Lucky B*st*rd~

You'll never be good at something unless you're willing to suck at it first.
    ~Anonymous~

AMA#116446

Comment

Would an Apprentice with the optional floats work?

Comment

Originally posted by Elbee View Post