X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Semi new, new to war birds.

Sorry for the slight rambling, just giving you guys a small background check on myself and rc planes. Been back into rc planes for about 8 months. Self taught on a trainer. Moved up to a 1500mm low wing sport and then to a small(1100mm) war bird(P51). Bought a 1400mm P51 from Motion RC. Have ground launched it 4 times, crashed it 3 of the 4. Ripped the gear off on the second attempt, so I had a buddy hand launch it. Flies great, so I belly land it in tall grass, fix the gear and go again. Rough launch but I manage it keep it up this time. One main will not come down(yep, I cycled it several times to make sure it was working correct) so I belly land it again. Fixed the problem and tried to ground launch again. Crashed and really ripped up the main wing. New one on the way. I think I know what my problem is, but I am wanting to see if you guys and gals can confirm it. I have a huge place to fly, but my runway is narrow and less than 100ft. The plane gets off the ground about 5 ft, then noses over hard to the left and straight into the ground every time. Never had this problem on the small war bird. It is not my receiver(have tested it in another plane) nor my radio. After a few days of self debate, I am thinking its motor torque with me fire walling the throttle because of the short runway. Just to confirm what I am thinking and since I crashed it on its maiden flight and had to do alot of repair, I did a slow speed pass at very low altitude and fire walled the motor. As I suspected it did a hard left nose over and went into the grass. My thinking is that this is caused by motor torque, basically I think I am trying to get airborne to quick. Am I thinking in the right direction?? Thanks for any input.

Steve