X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• radio range, balsa vs foamy

This might sound really crazy but I get better range during a range check with a balsa plane as opposed to a foamy!!! My background is balsa/glow but I have a couple of EPO electrics and my range check with them is always about 30 feet shorter. Same receiver, Admiral RX 600 SP, in all my planes. Same transmitter. Doesn't seem to matter whether it's glow or electric but if it's foam I get less range. It's never been a problem in flight, never lost a plane. Go figure??? Any ideas?

How did you come about determining this. The standard range check is performed at approx. 30 paces or 100ft.
    Are you saying that your foamies are only able to do 70ft ?
    I personally have never had a Rx fail a range check at 100ft and I've had well over 2X the hands/feet count of foam warbirds
    Warbird Charlie
    HSD Skyraider FlightLine OV-10 FMS 1400: P-40B, P-51, F4U, F6F, T-28, P-40E, Pitts, 1700 F4U & F7F, FOX glider Freewing A-6, T-33, P-51 Dynam ME-262, Waco TF Giant P-47; ESM F7F-3 LX PBJ-1 EFL CZ T-28, C-150, 1500 P-51 & FW-190

Comment