X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P40 b 1400mm

I am new to the rc planes have had many hrs on simulation. .I recently bought the p40 b 1400mm my question is how to find the cg..right side up ..upside-down wheels in wheels out..any help would be appreciated. .

Welcome to Hobby Squawk! I always CG my low wing fighters with the gear down and upside down.
    TiredIron Aviation
    Tired Iron Military Vehicles

Comment

I always check if raising the LG affects the CG, and how much, then set the CG with the wheels in the position that shifts it farther aft. You don't want a tail-heavy plane, either in the air, or when landing.

BTW, if you haven't flown before, the P-40 is NOT a trainer to learn on. Because of the relatively short fuselage length, pitch can be hard to master, and it will stall at what you may think is a good landing speed, especially when turning on final approach. The left roll on takeoff is also something that many simulators do not capture well, and inexperienced pilots will re-kit a warbird on the first attempt.

Comment

Hello Bobnweave and welcome to the Squawk,