Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just wanted to say glad to join. I have some experience with a Rc aircraft mainly Cp helis,but really not enough experience to be good at it due to having too many trees where I reside. I gave up on it and Rc aircraft for about three or four years.Then a couple of years ago I came across Quadrotors while on the interweb and been flying it since,but now I have been thinking about Rc airplanes quite a bit lately and I hope to get into the scene one day.

Welcome to Hobby Squawk, not a lot of quad talk here but some of us love the micro quads (Inductrix, H36 and such)...I like to mix the two, FPV in a plane.
    TiredIron Aviation
    Tired Iron Military Vehicles

Comment

If you are going to get an RC airplane, get the biggest foamie high wing trainer ou can afford. Electrics are simpler than nitro or gas at first though lipo batteries and charger can cost a bit. I thought I would start small with ultra-micro's and save money, but it was a mistake, in the long run it doesn't save money - you end up spending money in parts and repairs and the little ones are too twitchy for a new pilot. Preferably, the trainer would have a gyro stabilizer in it. I taught myself to fly on a Horizon Hobby Supercub. It took a lot of crashes, and a lot of repairs, but eventually I learned to fly. I flew it for a year and kept a record of all my flights and crashes. After a while, the only original part on the plane was the landing gear. But I learned to fly with it ad repairs weren't oturageously expensive. Then I started moving up to bigger and faster planes. In the beginning, slow is better. fast gets you into trouble before you can learn to correct.