Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brand New Pilot

Hello Everybody!

It is an absolute honor to be among veteran pilots! A little about myself, I’m a Marine Corps veteran, served on the Marine One helicopter squadron security forces as a military police officer for five years. There, I was privileged to make friends with the civilian flight instructors and was able to log about 80 hours in the VH-3 Sea King flight simulator, which was epically awesome! I have been fascinated by flight my whole life, and it all started with those balsa rubber band wind up planes from the five and dime store!

My only R/C flying experience has been with those tiny gyro helicopters goofing around in the living room with coffee table landings, and an earlier version of the Diamond 600 novice park flyer when I was in high school that was good for flying in circles and getting caught in trees.

After years of wanting to get back into the hobby, I finally pulled the trigger on a Sportsman S+ from HobbyZone, and it will be here Tuesday. I haven’t been this excited for something in a long time. I’ve read so many posts on Hobby Squawk prior to ordering, as well as my own research for what I thought would be a good starter “big boy” plane.

I am confident that I’ve educated myself beyond a basic understanding of my new aircraft, but what I am in the dark about is the AMA thing I’ve seen talked about. I know of an R/C club that has a beautiful runway and bleachers, etc, literally 1,200 yards from my house, but I have no clue as to the etiquette of approaching the club for membership to use the airfield, or how any of that works.