X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EDF jets and grass runways

I really like EDFs - problem is I am on a grass field - not golf grass - grass like your front yard. I have had a lot of bad experiences with small landing gear. Is there an FMS jet that has good size wheels and power to take off from this type of grass? I could also do a hand launch jet - had the small Panther jet that doesn't have wheels - but performance was lack luster...any ideas?

Welcome to Hobby Squawk!...I'm not sure about FMS but there's several Freewing jets we fly on my field, the A-10, F-86, A-4, A-6, Stinger and Mig 21.
    TiredIron Aviation
    Tired Iron Military Vehicles

Comment

Also worth thinking about is Freewings Avanti S its a treat to fly off grass with its big wheels and trailing link gear.

Comment

I can highly recommend the Freewing 80mm Avanti S and the Freewing 80mm A-10. Very well powered and grass friendly. I've flown them at my field when the grass is upto about 3" long, When the grass is freshly cut to about 1 1/2", I can even fly the Freewing 70mm F-16 6S Pro V2. The F-16 needs the upgraded gear to handle the grass well though. All fly great and sound good too.

Another of my club members has the Freewing Me-262, and it does real well too.

Comment

The best solution for your dilemma is using Geotex to put down your own runway. Then if its not your property you can just fold it back up for the next use.
          With this solution you would be free to fly any EDF your heart desires.

Comment

Originally posted by Evoman View Post
            The best solution for your dilemma is using Geotex to put down your own runway. Then if its not your property you can just fold it back up for the next use.
            With this solution you would be free to fly any EDF your heart desires.