X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diving into 64mm EDFs...

I have been flying off and on for about 7-8 years now, my current fleet comprised of a few e-flite UMX prop planes (Beast, parkzone t-28 UM) a UMX Habu 35mm edf which I absolutely love flying but is too small to keep track of sometimes, and a 1.1m Parkzone T-28 Trojan which I also adore because it's big and fast. I've been in love with the idea of a 64mm jet from the very beginning. I originally had considered the F9F or the Sabre for cost effectiveness. But I have had my eyes on the Freewing Stinger 64mm since it came out, and had all but decided on it. Mainly due to it being 4 channel (i don't use rudder all that often, but it's nice to have) but reading some posts in these forums and some reviews I'm not totally sold anymore. But I seem to have that problem with all of the Freewing 64mm jets...they all have issues according to the forums and reviews. Looking at the 4S versions, they all seem to struggle with the newer 12 blade fan, although that might've been from the original swap to it where the old motor was used....I'm not totally sure. It's difficult to decode the last 5 years worth of reviews and posts....

That being said, what would you guys recommend for a first 64mm EDF? Doesn't have to be freewing but that's what i've mostly been scoping out. I care about speed and performance a decent bit so am mostly considering only 4S options, although cost is also a factor, freewing 64s are about my budget. I'm not totally opposed to 3 channel bank and yank, but 4 channel preferred. What are my options here? So far I've perused the F22, f18, and Stinger reviews and posts for the 4S versions. Thanks guys!

I have quite a few of the smaller jets, some better than others, some superb. In no particular order my favorites are

xfly T7 Eflite F15
    Eflite umx mig (miglet)
    Arrows T33
    Eflite citation
    Freewing Sabre
    Freewing Panther
    Freewing F22