X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading to a 12 blade fan

I apologize if this is a no brainer for you EDF pro's as I am a rank newbie to EDFs. I recently bought a Rebel V2 (maiden will be Saturday) and I've often watched videos of 12 blade fans in EDF's and love how they sound. So, I notice today that a 12 blade fan for 70mm EDF's is available for lots cheaper than I thought. I am guessing that you can't just drop a 12 blade fan in right? You have to upgrade the motor and ESC as well? Or can you just use the same stock motor and just change the fan out?
    Lauren

Yes, the motor and ESC will need to be upgraded. Are you looking to stay with 4S or go to a 6S setup? The Freewing 12 blade setup is designed for 6S and will need a 100A ESC: https://www.motionrc.com/products/fr...nner-motor-red It would probably put the rebel at some ridiculously fast speeds. Another option is the 4S Freewing setup, that should work with the stock ESC. As far as I know, Motion doesn't have it yet, but it is available here: http://www.rc-castle.com/index.php?r...roduct_id=5811 You might lose a bit of speed with the high blade count fan, but it will sound awesome!

Comment

The trade off with the 12 blade fan is speed and efficiency. But, there is something to be said for the amazing sound the 12 blade fan produces. I love my 90mm jets with 12 blade fans.

Comment

Originally posted by F106DeltaDart View Post