Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FlightLine P-51D

Hey everyone,

Looking for a bit of help, I'm still new to the hobby and i had joined a club that was near my house and was able to fly a hand full of times and it always went well, Was flying a gas trainer that the club had but i had to move and the closes club to be is now over 1.5hr away. I picked up realflight and have been flying that as well as i don’t have the time to drive out to the club anymore.

My wife picked me up a FlightLine P-51D for charismas and i installed a Spectrum AR631 and i have an NX8 that i had bought before, This was my fist time setting everything up from scratch on the receiver so i checked out a few videos online and was able to configure the AS3X and SAFE, I also inverted the flaps like i saw on a few videos.

We have a small lake 2 mins from our house that freezes over in the winter so 2 days ago i took the plane out to try it and well it didn’t go the best lol.

The first time i went to hand launch it i had SAFE on and i guess because of the limited movement of the ailerons i could not clime and i broke the prop what was not a big deal i changed that up and went to do a second hand launch, This time i turned safe off and launched it and was able to clime no problem but as it started to go maybe around 40-50 feet it seemed to lose control and started to bank left and right before going into a spin and diving into the ground. I’m not sure if this was because i still was almost full throttle and forgot to back it off as this was the first time flying solo with no one else around i might have froze up and also fist time hang launching it.

Dose anyone have any suggestions on maybe something was setup wrong or settings i might have overlooked? I also know its not the best to jump into a warbird or low wing plane to start with but as i seemed to be doing great at the club with the trainer and on the flight sim i figured lets give it a go.