X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Banana Hobby V-22

Hello everyone. i have been new to the hobby for a couple of years now. Been flying a trainer and another plane.Yes, I understand I am a novice, but can comprehend information in it"s form. Bought this Osprey just to improve my motor skills as a flyer. Right now I can not get it to hover. I have reread the the manual numerous times to see if I forgot a step. It is an RTF version. Everything works as it should and even went through the initial startup letting the plane initialize. Have I missed something? Please advise. Thnanks, Ken.

Ken, I have gone through 3 of these planes and 1 of the V22's from Eflite. Please don't misunderstand my bluntness for impoliteness or sarcasm. It is not meant to be anything of the sort.
    The V22, especially the Banana one is not what I would call a good model for a "novice" or one to "improve one's motor skills". It has an extremely rudimentary flight controller that cannot react fast enough to the changing flight conditions that such an aircraft exhibits from second to second. The flight controller is also extremely prone to "brain farts", which can easily cause the plane to lose control even without input from the pilot. The tail "EDF" is way too small and also cannot adequately provide the necessary input to stabilize the hover. (The Eflite version of the V22 has a slightly better flight controller but still not up to the task.) OK, having said this as an introduction, the next part of my reply will hopefully help you to be a bit more successful with your V22.

First, the manual tells you very little in the way of making this thing hover or fly as an airplane. Here are some hints:
    1. Dial in as much servo travel as your TX will allow for DOWN elevator. This plane needs a lot of "forward" when hovering. This means that when you go into airplane mode, you must also switch to a lower rate and high expo for elevator.