X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crawler Mounted RC Crane Model

Hi all, my name is Tom Garing, my user name is cranemodel1015 and I am new to the Hobby Squawk site in general, and to the RC Construction Equipment forum in particular. I have, for many years, been interested in crawler mounted cranes and, over the years, have collected information on a 1960s vintage 110 ton capacity P&H model 1015 crawler mounted crane that I have recently completed designing, making and documenting as a fully operational RC scale Crane Model.

This Crane Model is a 1/12th scale full functioning 8 channel Radio Controlled replica of the P & H Model 1015 Lattice Boom Crawler Mounted Crane. Power for the model is provided by a 12 Volt, 22 Amp/Hr LiFePO4 battery that is mounted at the right rear of the cab. The model’s left and right crawler treads are powered independently with 12 Volt gearmotors and propel the model at a scale speed of 60” per minute. The single Boom Hoist Drum, two Cable Hoist Drums and the Cab Swing are each powered by modified 12 V windshield wiper (worm gear) motors from late model VWs. The lattice boom is a hybrid design that utilizes select straight 5/16” dia oak x 36” long corner rods with 1/8” dia poplar lattice members, however the boom areas of stress concentration including the Boom Tip section, Boom End sections and the Boom Base section are 50/50 soldered brass tubing fabrications. View this model’s Playlist on You Tube at: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...oZ-4VALnrYgQKw