X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hobby Eagle AL-3

I got a new AL-3 on the way. Going to install it in my Dynam SU-26. She likes to buck and whether vane in windy conditions. Hoping this will smooth it out. I'm new to the whole GYRO thing, But an experienced flier. Thought it would be a good gyro to get started with then work into an A3 later on. Being my first gyro, if anybody has feed back on set up, or anything to help out, I'm all ears. Will keep all of you posted on progress and long haul (durability) reports. Should see my gyro in a few more days, delayed do to bad whether.  :cool:
    Pacific NW Flyer  :arrow:

RE: Hobby Eagle AL-3

I have four recommendations based on my experience:
    1. read the manual top to bottom
    2. do extensive static / ground testing to make sure the gyro is moving the control surfaces in the correct direction.
    3. (most important) make sure to use a three position switch to control the gyro, this way you can have Gyro Off (deactivated) as one of the switch positions.  Test this on the ground to make sure the gyro can be deactivated. You want to be able to turn off the gyro in case the gyro does not behave as expected due to a setup issue.
    4. use 3D mode only at high altitudes until you have confirmed the gyro is setup properly.  If the gyro is not setup correctly, the plane can move erratically in 3D mode and flying at higher altitudes will give you time to deactivate or go into normal mode.  

If you follow the instructions and do your pre-flight checks you will absolutely enjoy the stabilizing effect of the Eagle gyros.  Once you master your A3-L definitely give the A3 a try; the auto leveling and auto hover features are very cool.

happy flying,
    Mark

Comment