X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radio Upgrade

Hello everyone; I'm fairly new to the hobby as far as flying airplanes.  I purchased a E-flite Apprentice S15 for my first airplane. As you may know it comes with a Spektrum DX 5e radio. I'm looking at wanting to get other airplane models later on, and would like to get a new radio that I can bind models to. I've been looking at the Spektrum DX 6 as my upgrade. However I'm not sure if this would be to much radio for a beginner?  I would appreciate your input before putting down some hard earned cash.

RE: Radio Upgrade

It is not enough radio!

When it comes to radios I like to see folks buy more than they think they need. This is because I still use my 20 year old radios and still have my 40+ year old radios. With modern radios having memory for 30 or more models it will take a while to fill up all those slots.

I strongly recommend 7 channels or more. This is because intermediate level gliders need often use 7 channels (crow mixing with motor).
    Also get a radio with interchangeable RF modules.

Now here is a bit of controversy, it is the programing power that really separates the radios. Take a close look at the way the radios use their programing power for mixing. You can look this up on U-Tube.
    I don't like the programing (mixing) based on the master/slave concept. Most Japanese radios are of this concept.
    I like the object based programing first made popular in RC sets by Multiplex. You can get a similar program with the Fr-Sky Taranis Plus.
    https://alofthobbies.com/radio-gear/frsky-transmitters.html

If you are committed to the DSM2/DSMX protocols you can add this module to the Fr-Sky. ( there will the loss of model match).
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__46634__OrangeRX_DSMX_DSM2_Compatible_2_4Ghz_Tran smitter_Module_JR_Turnigy_compatible_.html

So the short of it is get a 7+ channel, computer radio with modular RF deck.