Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DX8e Travel Adjustment

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to RC aircraft. I have a Spektrum DX8e transmitter and one airplane that has a lot of up elevator when transmitter is bound to it. How do I adjust the travel of the DX8e?

Thanks,
    Lou

First of all, before you start messing around with settings in the DX8e (or any TX for that matter), you need to make sure that the airplane has been properly set up manually. IE, make sure that when all the control surfaces are neutral (except flaps), all the servos are centered with their arms at 90 degrees to the servo body. You'll need a servo tester, especially if this is NOT a brand new airplane. Once the servos are neutralized and the arms are at 90*, then you manually adjust the control rods so that each control surface is in their neutral positions. Once this is done, before you bind the TX and RX (in the plane), make sure all trim tabs are at their middle, neutral positions. When bound, the control surfaces should not move that much. If they do, you manually adjust each control rod until they are neutral.
    As an aside, you do NOT adjust "a lot of up elevator" (as in your particular situation) by altering the "travel". Travel adjust is for something else. Servo "sub-trim" can be used BUT only in very minute amounts, as is using any trim tab on the face of the TX - trim tabs are for just that - trimming - to neutralize the plane's flight in the air. "A lot of up elevator" is done manually.
    To know about the servo menus such as travel adjust and servo sub-trim, you are best advised to read the transmitter manual.

Comment

Thanks for the info. Servo arms are hard to see but it appears to be centered. Will get a servo tester and check rods first.

Comment