X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gyro help

Hello guys, i'm fairly new to the world of gyros. I recently purchased the hobby eagle super a3 gyro. I want to use it with trainer mode. Whenever I do this, the aileron throws are correct but the gain is too high. The ailerons are very twitchy to the point where I know the plane would oscillate if it were in the air. So I lowered the basic gain and this prevents the twitchiness but all it does is drastically lower my throws which will give me no control. There are multiple gain settings but I'm not an expert on them. I want to find a way to prevent the twitch without making the throws so small. I figured I would post on this and look for some guidance. Below I posted a visual.

I use many different HobbyEagle gyros and the A3S3 is but one of them, so I'd suggest looking at the manual for this gyro as my response will be fairly generic to HobbyEagle gyros. Here is the manual if you don't have it already:
    https://www.hobbyeagle.com/manuals/A...al_v2.0_en.pdf

I use the HobbyEagle programming card rather than the config software on the PC. I find the programming card is easier and more straight forward but that's just me.
    Looking at your screen shot tells me that the gain for AIL and ELE at 50% is much too high. What kind of plane is this going into? If it's a "regular" plane (as opposed to a 3D plane), I would suggest you stick with rate gain (basic gain) and all the other stuff at zero across the board. All those other gains are just confusing the issue for now and don't need to be set, as they are likely playing havoc with trying to make this thing work. Lock, Atti, Level, Hover gain are dangerous things to play with and can interfere with all kinds of things.
    The faster the plane, the lower your gains need to be. I typically set AIL rate gain at ~30% for jets and fast prop planes.