X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy Questions

For Father's Day, one of my daughters got me a Hobbico ARF Cessna 182 from eBay. It was in the original box and has never been built, so it is a wonderful gift. I'm new to RC but not new to aviation: I am a retired US Army helicopter pilot and instructor pilot (UH-60s and CH-47Ds, primarily), and now own a Cessna 182Q Skylane that I fly regularly. My total fixed and rotary wing time is about 4,000 hours with nearly 900 in my Skylane. A thousand years ago I flew control line .049 planes but never moved to RC. I als have had an RC simulator on my iPad for a good while that I play with sometimes when I can't go out and bore holes in the sky.

Having said that, questions abound on this new toy. I read somewhere online that you can substitute electric motors in place of the .40 2-Cycle or .60 4-cycle the kit recommends. Is this true? I'd prefer that, given the noise and mess that a gas engine (as I recall from my .049 days) make. This plane has a wingspan of 51.5 inches, a length of 46.5 inches and a wing area of 615 sq inches. Is this too large for an electric engine? If an electric engine is ok, where do I start to find one? I'd appreciate any recommendations any smart person can give.

Second question is about the servos. I found some servos online on Ebay which look like the ones in the instruction manual. The manual looks great for building the plane, but is a little scarce on some details, such as what kind of servos to get. I know I need four: Nose wheel/rudder, elevator, alierons and throttle. How do I know which ones to get?

What about the receiver and transmitter? Anyone have good recommendations for them? I am fine buying a used set but want to know what to avoid.