X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bagged T-34/85, now to paint and otherwise

After a long while, it has finally happened. I took advantage of the Toucan "US Stock Sale" and picked up a shiny new T-34/85 (hopefully coming by next week).

I'm looking to paint the tank in a solid green color despite being a total beginner with no airbrush. I came across some enamel spray paint that is about the color I would like.

Here is the link: https://www.hobbylobby.com/Crafts-Ho...-Enamel/p/1246

As much as I like the idea of painting a tank with little effort for cheap, I wonder if its... too cheap.

What experience do y'all have with this product or similar ones? Should I get rattle-canning, or is it a bad idea?

-Hayden

I think if you are using that for the main color, that should be fine. Airbrushing would really be for detailing (I.E., camo patterns). I've used Testors paint in the past in those cans for RC car bodies and model bodies, and it works well for a solid primary color.

Clay

PS I was just trying to recall what I have painted... some of the classic AMT big rig models. Take your time to prevent runs and it should look good.

Comment

Testors is fine. My preference is for Tamiya's spray rattle cans as a base overall color, after which I either leave it as is, airbrush an overcoat, or just dirty it up. what you're paying for in hobby rattle cans is the fineness of the particles. You can buy much cheaper aerosols at hardware stores, but they will come out rougher. Not a dealbreaker, but if you put decals on it they won't stick as well.
      Twenty six tanks, and not done yet!

Comment

That's good to hear.

I'm thinking after a coat or two of the spray I can follow it up with a black or brown wash for the details.

Also I'm hunting down an HL T-72 accessories kit for some extra accessories.

Hopefully I can have it all up and running before too long!

Comment

The tank came in last Sunday and so far it's been a beast.