X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Projects underway for NASM transformation project in Washington, DC

Hi All: I had a couple of requests from folks who use Hobbysquawk a lot like I do to discuss some projects that I am doing that are a little different in nature.
    For those who have been to the National Air and Space Museum in Washington, DC on the National Mall before, you may or may not beware that since 2019 there has been a total transformation project going on. Most everything was removed or moved elsewhere outside the museum while this project is going on except for a few things like the Wright Flyer and the Spirit of St. Louis and some things like that.

I have been doing work with the NASM since 1994 and was contacted to bid on a number of projects that they need done. I had my choice of which ones I was interested in and even capable of doing (some are HUGE rocket pieces that are too large for me to have the room to do). But I did select four projects to do that I have just begun.

They are: 1) A 1/32 plastic scale model of a Me-163B rocket powered airplane
    2) A 1/32 scale plastic model of a RAF Mustang III, flown by a famous Polish ace with the RAF.
    3) Twelve (12) 1/72nd scale models of B-17Gs suspended from the ceiling by wires to mimic what the "combat box" formations were used during WWII to maximize fire power against enemy aircraft and make bomb runs more accurate by tightening up the formation.
    4) Restore and repurpose a very large (4 foot wingspan and 8 feet long) 1:15 scale fiberglass space shuttle model that has been in the possession of NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston for many years.
    The model will be modified by cutting out the top to make payload bay doors, and a scale interior with the Hubble Space Telescope inside. The model will be made to look like