X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aspire sound card and Blown Speakers

Is anyone else having any problems with blown TT-25's with the Aspire Sound Card?

A couple of days ago, I flew one of my B-24's that has the Aspire Card, with the multi-engine sound pack and 2 TT-25's. On the third flight, the sound quit mid flight, and after taking it home and checking, BOTH TT-25's were deader than a door nail. This was probably the 20th flight or so and my other B-24 has about the same flights on it with no problems. I've been using these sound cards for about 3 years and have 4 planes with the older V.4.1 cards with 2 transducers and those planes between them have over 100 flights with never a problem The board is slightly smaller (so it fits in tighter spaces) and the sound is good (no whistles though), but not quite as good as the Aspire card. The V 4.1 has been discontinued however.

I also have 4 Aspire cards and since they first came out, I've had multiple issues. I used to get them directly from Andrew and MR RC Sound, but he stopped selling direct recently and MRC does it-which is fine with me. The first 3 Aspire boards I had would fry a transducer within the first 3 flights. Andrew eventually replaced all my parts but I think he got tired of dealing with me. He told me that on some, he had gotten a bad volume knob, which he replaced on a couple of mine that were bad. He also replaced some TT-25's cause he told me he had a couple issues with the manufacturing and 1 batch was bad. He also reduced the voltage adjustment pot (whatever that is) on a couple that were bad.