Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heng Long Abrams M1A2 Tank smoke unit

Hello Fellow Tankers,

I am new at the tank scene, and I have a frustrating question. Currently I am not happy with the smoke unit in the Abrams Tank V7.0, It works sometimes, and it don't work other times. I have taken the unit apart and clean it many times, reoil it and then it works for maybe 5 min. Then nothing again. I am thinking that this is an inferior smoking unit. does the wick supposed to be wet or dry?

My question is are there any upgraded smoke unit out or is there a better fix or replacement for the Abrams Tank smoke unit to work all the time. I was told that if too much oil no smoke, not enough oil no smoke.

Very frustrate, but I like the tank overall and I want the tank to function correctly.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Smoke units can be a challenge. The one in my HL Tiger works like a champ. The HL Sherman smoker sucks bilge water. There are other smokers out there but I haven't tried them. I am sure others here can give you better guidance than I.

Comment

Actually the smokers in current HL are decent, better than the older piston type. If your smoker works (emits smoke), most likely the unit is fine, it is a very simple unit, it either works or doesn't. Having said that, most of the time the problem is condensation an/or droplets trapped in the tubes, especially the stiff plastic tubes used by HL. Try some silicone tubes from the aquarium shop, don't run too long as that would contribute to droplets/condensation, but also give the connection a smooth path.

When the unit is clogged, just get a straw and blow air through where you place the oil. There are better smokers (GI smoker), but that's >$70. Is it better, yes, but IMHO, not 10x better, that's why I switched to using aquarium pumps with a different HL smoker.

Good luck.

Comment

sclui56,